How to frustrate a (responsible) user (a little bit)

13 01 2009

I like Facebook a lot, but I just had some unexpected user experience on the popular site. Please see below for the screenshots.

I was looking to download the facebook toolbar for my Firefox, I found the download page (using Google) so I clicked on the big blue button where it says “Download Facebook Toolbar”. I was taken to a page where it says “The page you requested was not found.” As a responsible user, I thought I’d use the “report the error” link on the page to let Facebook know about this issue. so I clicked on “report the error”. The best part of the story is the end, the “report the error” took me to a page “not found”. As responsible as I am as a Facebook user, I don’t know what to do but to post this entry here. (Facebook developers, hope you are reading this. Currently I am on Mac OS X, Firefox 3.0.5, T1 connection. Also tried Safari and IE on Parallel, got the same experience. )

So lessons learned? If you have a “report the error” page, make sure it works otherwise take the links down. Or better yet, before you release anything to the public, QA it again and again.

page to download the Facebook toolbar

page to download the Facebook toolbar

informing user page not found, encouraging user to "report the error".

informing user page not found, encouraging user to 'report the error'.

informing user the error reporting page was not found

informing user the error reporting page was not found

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

