Flash tracer stopped working ? -remedy

19 06 2008

Flash tracer, which has been my savior for the past 1.5 years, updated itself today and stopped working ever since. I tried all kinds of tricks but failed.

I have helped numerous developers to set up Flash Tracer during the time I benefit from it and every time it works like a charm… Not this time though… I can get traces in Flash Tracer if I am debugging inside Flash IDE, nothing if I have a Flash website open in Firefox. So I guess it might be a sandbox issue?

I am on Mac OS X version 10.4.11, Firefox version 2.0.0.12. If that makes a difference. My log file is saved at /Users/{user name with no weird characters} /Library/Preferences/Macromedia/Flash Player/Logs/flashlog.txt. I have mm.cfg file saved at /Users/{user name with no weird characters} /Library/Application\ Support/Macromedia/mm.cfg as well as /Users/{user name with no weird characters}/mm.cfg .

Thanks Alessandro, for saving my life millions of times.

[update] I just made my Flash Tracer work today. Here is what I did: I created the log file at the directory above, then uninstalled and reinstalled the Flash Player. (Why didn’t I think of that before?)

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 01 2009
lee

Yes, had same problem. Had updated to non-debugger version of flash player. Downloaded debug version and the problem was fixed.

1 07 2010
erik

Thanks lee!

Leave a Reply

